Voting Deadline: February 4, 2019, 11:59 pm ET

The Society of Behavioral Medicine (SBM) Nominating Committee is pleased to announce the ballot is open for two Board of Directors positions:

  • President-Elect (1-year term as President-Elect, ascends to President for one year, and then serves as Past-President the following year)
  • Member-Delegate (3-year term)

The roles and responsibilities for each position are described below:


  • Serves as chairperson at any meeting, other than the annual meeting, in the absence of the president
  • In case of absence, disability, or resignation of the president, performs the duties of president
  • Makes council and committee chair appointments, subject to Board confirmation
  • Works closely with the president on all executive matters
  • Serves a one-year term of office, ascends to president for one year and serves as past-president for one year


  • Represents the broad-based interests of the membership
  • Serves on the Executive Committee as a voting member
  • Serves a three-year term of office

Candidates are prohibited from using the listservs to campaign and SIGs can’t endorse individual candidates.


Monica Baskin, PhD




Bradford Hesse, PhD


Member Delegate

Bernard Fuemmeler, PhD




Dori Pekmezi, PhD




Rachel Shelton, ScD, MPH


Eligible voters: Full Members, Emeritus Members, Fellows, Fellow Emeritus, and Transitional Members.
Not eligible to vote: Non-members, Student Members, Associate Members, and Affiliate Members.

Voters must be 2019 SBM members. Need to join or renew? Visit