2019 Leadership Institute

2019 Leadership Institute

The 2019 Annual Meeting welcomed the fourth cohort of SBM's year-long Leadership Institute for mid-career members.

SBM Past-President Marian L. Fitzgibbon, PhD, began developing the year-long Leadership Institute for mid-career members in 2016 after identifying leadership training as a high-need area among mid-career individuals, despite the fact that they often find themselves at pivotal career junctures where leadership skills or career coaching would prove helpful.

The fourth annual Leadership Institute kicked off at SBM's 2019 Annual Meeting. The 33 Leadership Institute fellows met during an intensive two-day workshop which included sessions on:

  • Understanding yourself as an emerging leader
  • Managing conflict
  • Navigating diverse career paths
  • Thriving amid chaos
  • Singletasking
  • Welcoming diversity and fostering inclusivity
  • Crafting, practicing, and executing highly effective impromptu pitches

Following the in-person session, fellows participated throughout the year in individual coaching sessions, developed self-selected leadership projects under the mentorship of recognized SBM leaders, and joined periodic calls with a “learning community” of five to seven fellows with similar professional interests.

Leadership Institute fellows met for a two-day training on March 5-6 during SBM’s 2019 Annual Meeting in Washington, DC.

Congratulations to the 2019-20 Leadership Institute fellows:

Anthony Alioto, PhD
Amy Bohnert, PhD
Rachel Ceballos, MS, PhD
Christina Ciecierski, PhD
Akilah Dulin, PhD
Cam Escoffery, PhD, MPH
Mary Greaney, PhD
Joan Griffin, PhD
Cherise Harrington, PhD, MPH
Rashelle B. Hayes, PhD
Melanie Hingle, PhD, MPH, RD
Ivy K. Ho, PhD
Michelle Janelsins, PhD, MPH
Linda Ko, PhD
Sunmin Lee, ScD
Maureen Monaghan, PhD
Joan Neuner, MD

Veronica Njie-Carr, PhD
Elyse Park, PhD, MPH
Maija Reblin, PhD
Laura Redwine, PhD
Jennifer Reese, PhD
Susan Schembre, PhD, RD
Stacey Scott, PhD
Dara Sorkin, PhD
Amanda Staiano, PhD
Larkin Strong, PhD
Katherine Y. Tossas-Milligan, PhD
Brie Turner-McGrievy, PhD, MS, RD
Meghan Underhill, PhD, FNP
Elizabeth Unni, PhD
Stephan Weinland, MS, PhD
Shannon Zenk, PhD

Thank you fellow sponsors:

Elva M. Arredondo, PhD
Marian L. Fitzgibbon, PhD
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Meghan Lines, PhD
Robin Mermelstein, PhD
Lila J. Rutten, PhD, MPH


And a special thank you to the SBM leaders who served as institute mentors, discussion panelists, and steering committee members:

Norman Anderson, PhD
Alan M. Delamater, PhD
Marian L. Fitzgibbon, PhD
Rebecca E. Lee, PhD
Suzanne M. Miller, PhD
Sherri Sheinfeld Gorin, PhD
Dawn K. Wilson, PhD
Amy L. Yaroch, PhD


Gary G. Bennett, PhD
Sherry Pagoto, PhD
Michael Diefenbach, PhD


Steering Committee
Elva Arredondo, PhD
Monica L. Baskin, PhD
Elliot J. Coups, PhD
Marian L. Fitzgibbon, PhD
Laura L. Hayman, RN, PhD, FAAN
Robin M. Lally, PhD, RN
Judith K. Ockene, PhD, MEd
Sherri Sheinfeld Gorin, PhD
Amy L. Yaroch, PhD