2018 Leadership Institute

2018 Leadership Institute

The 2018 Annual Meeting welcomed the third cohort of SBM's year-long Leadership Institute for mid-career members.

SBM Past-President Marian L. Fitzgibbon, PhD, began developing the year-long Leadership Institute for mid-career members in 2016 after identifying leadership training as a high-need area among mid-career individuals, despite the fact that they often find themselves at pivotal career junctures where leadership skills or career coaching would prove helpful.

The third annual Leadership Institute kicked off at SBM's 2018 Annual Meeting. The 35 Leadership Institute fellows met during an intensive two-day workshop which included sessions on:

  • Understanding yourself as an emerging leader
  • Managing conflict
  • Navigating diverse career paths
  • Thriving amid chaos
  • Singletasking
  • Welcoming diversity and fostering inclusivity
  • Crafting, practicing, and executing highly effective impromptu pitches

Following the in-person session, fellows participated throughout the year in individual coaching sessions, developed self-selected leadership projects under the mentorship of recognized SBM leaders, and joined periodic calls with a “learning community” of five to seven fellows with similar professional interests.

Congratulations to the 2018-19 Leadership Institute fellows:

Stephen Baker, PhD
Jamie S. Bodenlos, PhD
Scott DeBerard, PhD
Genevieve F. Dunton, PhD, MPH
Katharine S. Edwards, PhD
Stephanie L. Fitzpatrick, PhD
Sara C. Folta, PhD
Laura P. Forsythe, PhD, MPH
Lisa Goldman Rosas, PhD, MPH
Jeffrey S. Gonzalez, PhD
Kristi D. Graves, PhD
Idethia S. Harvey, DrPH, MPH
Leslie R.M. Hausmann, PhD
Nora B. Henrikson, PhD, MPH
Heather S. Jim, PhD
Alanna Kulchak Rahm, PhD, MS
Phoenix Alicia Matthews, PhD
Lisa M. McAndrew, PhD

Yamile Molina, PhD
India J. Ornelas, PhD, MPH
Heather Orom, PhD
Dorothy Pekmezi, PhD
Sheela Raja, PhD
Simon Rosenbaum, PhD
Rajani S. Sadasivam, PhD
Patricia Sheean, PhD, RD
Janet L. Thomas, PhD
Hayley S. Thompson, PhD
Amy B. Wachholtz, PhD, MDiv, MS
Sheldon Watts, PhD, MPH
Elissa R. Weitzman, ScD, MSc
Christina Wilson, PhD
Betina R. Yanez, PhD
Karen H. Yeary, PhD
Kara Zivin, PhD, MS, MA

Thank you fellow sponsors:

Marian L. Fitzgibbon, PhD
Shiriki K. Kumanyika, PhD, MPH
University of Illinois Cancer Center


And a special thank you to the SBM leaders who served as institute mentors, discussion panelists, and steering committee members:

Alan M. Delamater, PhD
Michael A. Diefenbach, PhD
Marian L. Fitzgibbon, PhD
Sara J. Knight, PhD
Rebecca E. Lee, PhD
Sherri Sheinfeld Gorin, PhD
Dawn K. Wilson, PhD
Amy L. Yaroch, PhD


Gary G. Bennett, PhD
Laura L. Hayman, MSN, PhD, FAAN
William T. Riley, PhD


Steering Committee
Monica L. Baskin, PhD
Elliot J. Coups, PhD
Marian L. Fitzgibbon, PhD
Laura L. Hayman, RN, PhD, FAAN
Judith K. Ockene, PhD, MEd
Sherri Sheinfeld Gorin, PhD
Amy L. Yaroch, PhD