Home    Contact Us    Sitemap   FACEBOOK  TWITTER  LINKED IN  RSS   Member Only  Member Login


There are eight standing committees of the Society of Behavioral Medicine.

Awards Committee
Chair: Laura L. Hayman, RN, PhD, FAAN
The Awards Committee solicits and reviews nominations for SBM Achievement Awards and determines the recipients. This Committee provides recommendations regarding the awards policy. The Awards Committee also solicits and reviews nominations for SBM Fellows each year.

Civic and Public Engagement Committee
Chair: Sherry L. Pagoto, PhD
The Civic and Public Engagement Committee is charged with continuously monitoring the health policy environment for the purposes of identifying opportunities for endorsing and/or advocating for policies or policy changes congruent with the mission and vision of the society.

Development Committee
Chair: Brent Van Dorsten, PhD
The overall aims of the Development Committee are to (1) promote the society to targeted organizations and groups, and (2) identify and solicit support from potential sponsors for society activities and events.

Evidence-Based Behavioral Medicine (EBBM) Committee
Chair: Ken Resnicow, PhD
The overall aim of the EBBM Committee is to influence the direction and course of evidence-based practice and research within behavioral medicine. The EBBM committee organizes efforts within SBM and works with other scientific and professional organizations to promote evidence-based practice. The EBBM Committee also oversees the review of all practice guidelines, both for comment and endorsement, and makes recommendations for final action to the Executive Committee.

Finance Committee
Chair: Michael A. Diefenbach, PhD
This committee is responsible for making recommendations regarding fiscal policy to the Board, including but not limited to proposals and recommendations regarding investment and management of society reserves. The Finance Committee chair proposes a budget for the next fiscal year for approval by the Board. The Finance Committee chair and secretary-treasurer review expenditures periodically.

Health Policy Committee
Chair: Marian L. Fitzgibbon, PhD
The Health Policy Committee identifies, assesses and develops key opportunities to inform the policy debate at the federal and state level on issues related to the SBM mission. The Committee may develop policy positions for the society to be reviewed and approved by the Executive Committee acting for the Board. These shall highlight the contributions of behavioral medicine in advancing healthcare and public health.

Nominating Committee
Chair: Dawn K. Wilson, PhD
Chaired by the immediate past president, the Nominating Committee oversees the society's election of officers and member delegates.

Program Committee
Chair: Lila J. Rutten, PhD, MPH
Co-Chair: Kate Wolin, ScD
The Program Committee is responsible for reviewing, selecting and planning the program for the Annual Meeting. This process includes developing and monitoring the abstract submission process; inviting keynote and other plenary session speakers; developing and monitoring the registration process; and selecting the Local Arrangements Committee that plans/researches local activities and local sponsorship, and develops a guide of local attractions.

If you’re interested in getting involved with a committee, contact the chair of the committee you’d like to join.

Society of Behavioral Medicine
555 East Wells Street, Suite 1100  |  Milwaukee, WI 53202-3823
Phone: (414) 918-3156  |  Fax: (414) 276-3349  |  Email: info@sbm.org
Sitemap  |  Advertise with SBM  |  Media  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use  |  Contact Us
© 2015 Society of Behavioral Medicine. All Rights Reserved.