Outlook: Newsletter of the Society of Behavorial Medicine

Congratulations to the following Society of Behavioral Medicine (SBM) members who recently received awards or were otherwise honored. To have your honor or award featured in the next issue of Outlook, please email ahahn@sbm.org.

Jill E. Bormann, PhD, RN, FAAN
Dr. Bormann has been selected to receive the 2017 International Society of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurses (ISPN) Research Award. The ISPN Research Award recognizes contributions to the generation of new psychiatric-mental health nursing knowledge; and the impacts of your research related to Mantram Repetition Program to improve psychiatric-mental health nursing clinical practice, care delivery, and/or policy.

Dr. Cynthia C. Forbes, PhD
Dr. Forbes was awarded an Australian Endeavour Research Fellowship. The Endeavour Fellowship program aims to build Australia’s reputation for excellence in the provision of education and research, support the internationalization of the Australian higher education and research sectors, and offer high-achieving individuals from overseas and Australia opportunities to increase their productivity and expertise in their field.

Stephen M. Weiss, PhD, MPH and Marc D. Gellman, PhD
Dr. Weiss and Dr. Gellman were honored by the International Congress of Behavioral Medicine (ICBM) for their contributions to the field. Dr. Weiss, who is widely considered one of the founders of the field, received the ICBM’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Dr. Gellman, was honored with the Distinguished Career Contribution Award for his widely acknowledged contributions to the development of behavioral medicine.

Dr. James Sallis, PhD
Dr. Sallis was elected to the National Academy of Medicine.

Kimlin Tam Ashing, PhD
Dr. Kimlin has been elected to serve on the Minorities in Cancer Research Council of the American Association for Cancer Research.

Amelie G. Ramirez, DrPH
Dr. Ramirez has received the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) Distinguished Lecture on the Science of Cancer Health Disparities award. The award, sponsored by Susan G. Komen, honors an investigator with a far-reaching impact on the etiology, detection, diagnosis, treatment or prevention of cancer health disparities.

Kim Lavoie, PhD
Dr. Lavoie has been inaugurated into the College of the Royal Society of Canada. The College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists is Canada’s first national system of multidisciplinary recognition for the emerging generation of Canadian intellectual leadership. The Members of the College are Canadians and Permanent Residents who, at an early stage in their career, have demonstrated a high level of achievement.