Outlook: Newsletter of the Society of Behavorial Medicine

Spring/Summer 2016

Honors and Awards

Congratulations to the following Society of Behavioral Medicine (SBM) members who recently received awards or were otherwise honored. To have your honor or award featured in the next issue of Outlook, please email elinc@sbm.org.

Cynthia C. Forbes, PhD
Dr. Forbes received the Oncology Nursing Society's 2016 Excellence in Writing Award for Quantitative Nursing Research. This award recognized her paper, “Prevalence and correlates of strength exercise among breast, prostate, and colorectal cancer survivors in Nova Scotia, Canada”, originally published in Oncology Nursing Forum, for making a significant contribution to the empirical literature, being an exemplar of quantitative nursing research, and suggesting ways to translate findings to clinical practice in cancer care.

Ian Kleckner, PhD
Dr. Kleckner recently had the honor of giving an oral presentation at the American Society for Clinical Oncology (ASCO) Annual Meeting. That same presentation was hand selected to be included in the Best of ASCO® program and was awarded the ASCO Merit Award.

Karl E. Minges, PhD, MPH
Dr. Minges received Yale University’s 2016 Anthony DiGuida Dissertation Prize. The prize is given to a graduating doctoral student who demonstrates creative conceptualization of a complex clinical problem for study, methodologic and analytic excellence, and superb writing.

Cynthia Thomson, PhD, RD
Dr. Thomson was the recipient of two awards this spring. The University of Arizona Distinguished Outreach Faculty Award which recognizes outstanding faculty whose scholarship-based outreach to the state, nation and the world has demonstrated sustained excellence in the University’s outreach mission. The second award, the 14th Annual Distinguished Investigator Salmon Award, recognizes outstanding University of Arizona Cancer Center faculty members for their leadership in cancer research, grant support and publications. This award is presented annually in honor of Dr. Sydney Salmon, founding director of the University of Arizona Cancer Center.

Erika A. Waters, PhD, MPH
Dr. Waters was promoted to associate professor of surgery in the Division of Public Health Sciences at Washington University in St. Louis.

Redford B. Williams, Jr., MD
Dr. Williams received the American Psychosomatic Society’s 2016 Distinguished Scientist Award on March 9 at the society’s 2016 Annual Meeting. The award recognizes senior scientists and physicians who have made an important and protracted contribution in any research field within the society's bailiwick.