Outlook: Newsletter of the Society of Behavorial Medicine

Summer 2017

Honors and Awards

Congratulations to the following Society of Behavioral Medicine (SBM) members who recently received awards or were otherwise honored. To have your honor or award featured in the next issue of Outlook, please email ahahn@sbm.org.

Barbara Andersen, PhD
Dr. Andersen was awarded the title of College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor of Psychology at Ohio State University.

Robert D. Kerns, PhD
Dr. Kerns Professor of Psychiatry, Neurology, and Psychology at Yale University recently received the American Pain Society’s 2017 Wilbert E. Fordice Clinical investigator award. The award was established in 1995 to recognize and honor career achievement in clinical research on pain.

Xiaomeng (Mona) Xu, PhD
Dr. Xu, assistant professor of psychology at Idaho State University (ISU), was awarded an Outstanding Achievement Award by the Mountain West Clinical Translational Research - Infrastructure Network. The MW CTR-IN comprises 7 Mountain West states and 11 institutions, including ISU.  Dr. Xu was recognized during their annual conference in May 2017 in Las Vegas.

Meagan Helmick, MPH, CHES
The University of Nebraska Medical Center held the annual College of Public Health Student Research Conference where students presented their work. Five MPH and five PhD students were selected to receive an award based on judge’s scores for their presentation. Ms. Helmick was selected as one of the PhD students who received an award for Outstanding Thematic Poster.

Michelle Janelsins, PhD, MPH
Dr. Janelsins recently published a manuscript in Journal of Clinical Oncology, “Cognitive Complaints in Survivors of Breast Cancer After Chemotherapy Compared with Age-Matched Controls: An Analysis From a Nationwide, Multicenter, Prospective Longitudinal Study.” This article was recently recognized by American Society of Clinical Oncology as the Best of JCO 2017.