Outlook: Newsletter of the Society of Behavorial Medicine
Fall 2014 Return to Outlook main page »

Honors and Awards

Congratulations to the following Society of Behavioral Medicine (SBM) members who recently received awards or were otherwise honored. To have your honor or award featured in the next issue of Outlook, please email lbullock@sbm.org.

Redford B. Williams Jr., MD
Dr. Williams, an SBM fellow and the society’s president from 1983-84, received the International Society of Behavioral Medicine’s (ISBM) 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award. It is the highest honor bestowed by ISBM. Dr. Williams was given the award August 20 during ISBM’s 13th International Congress of Behavioral Medicine in Groningen, The Netherlands. Dr. Williams was recognized for “outstanding contributions to behavioral medicine throughout his whole career,” according to ISBM.

Brent Van Dorsten, PhD
Dr. Van Dorsten was elected president of the Colorado Pain Society. He was the society’s first non-physician member and is now its first non-physician president.

Ann Blair Kennedy, MA, LMT, DrPH(c)
The American Massage Therapy Association gave Dr. Kennedy a National Certificate of Appreciation during its national convention, held September 17-21 in Denver, CO. The award was given in recognition of Dr. Kennedy’s service to the association. She has served on the association’s National Governance Standing Committee since 2006 and the National Chapter Relations Standing Committee since 2008. She has also authored or co-authored 12 of the association’s 14 adopted position statements.

Dr. Kennedy this fall also was awarded the Colonial Life Fellowship by the Arnold School of Public Health at the University of South Carolina.  

Mary Amanda Dew, PhD
Dr. Dew was appointed chair of the Living Donor Committee within the Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network/United Network for Organ Sharing (OPTN/UNOS). Dr. Dew was elected to the OPTN/UNOS Board of Directors in June as well.

In September, Dr. Dew received the Friend of Transplant Nursing Award from the International Transplant Nurses Society for her impact on the field of transplant nursing.

Katie Weinger, EdD, RN, FAADE
Dr. Weinger received the 2014 Outstanding Educator in Diabetes Award from the American Diabetes Association during its annual Scientific Sessions held in June in San Francisco, CA.

Deborah Jones Weiss, PhD
On August 6, Dr. Jones Weiss was elected as a fellow to the Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research (ABMR). The mission of ABMR is to provide a forum for established scientists working in the field of behavioral medicine, where ideas can be exchanged in an informal yet scientifically charged atmosphere.

Karen Oliver, PhD
Dr. Oliver has been promoted to clinical associate professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Human Behavior at Brown University’s Alpert Medical School.

Ken Wallston, PhD
Dr. Wallston has been appointed to the Open Research Exchange (ORE) Scientific Advisory Board.

Michelle Segar, PhD, MPH
Dr. Segar is now chair of the U.S. National Physical Activity Plan's Communications Committee.

She also recently became director of the University of Michigan Sports, Health, and Activity Research and Policy (SHARP) Center.