Outlook: Newsletter of the Society of Behavorial Medicine
Fall 2013 Return to Outlook Main page »

Honors & Awards

This article showcases some of SBM members' recent honors and awards. If you would like to have your honor or award featured in the next issue, please forward the details of your achievement to William J. Sieber, PhD, Outlook Editor. Congratulations to all of the following members.

Patricia Dolan Mullen, DrPH
Dr. Molen was one of 12 faculty members selected from the six health science center campuses of the University of Texas System for their Academy of Health Sciences Education. Together with her selection last year for the first class of University of Texas Regents' Outstanding Teaching Awards, she is now a University of Texas Distinguished Teaching Professor.

Wayne F. Velicer, PhD
Dr. Velicer received the 2013 APA Division 5 Samuel J. Messick Distinguished Scientific Contributions Award. He is Co-Director of the Cancer Prevention Research Center and Professor of Psychology at the University of Rhode Island. He has been a fellow of APA Division 5, Division 38, and the Society for Behavioral Medicine for many years. Over the past forty years, he has authored or coauthored over 275 publications. His academic impact ratings are impressive: his h-index (Publish or Perish: number of publications cited as many times) is 66 and his work has been cited well more than 27,000 times. He is nationally and internationally recognized for his work both in methodology and developing and using the Transtheoretical model (TTM) of behavior change, one of the most highly applied and influential models in health psychology. His scientific scholarship is well illustrated by the fact that he has been principal investigator or co-investigator on over $100M in research grants (NCI, NIA, NIDA, NIAAA, NIMH, ACS, CDC, RWJF). He has been a consulting editor for many major health and methodology journals. In addition, he has served as a grant reviewer and in a leadership role in numerous scientific, methodological and health organizations, such as National Institutes of Health (NIH), Society for Multivariate Experimental Psychology, and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Tara Eaton, PhD
Dr. Eaton, anthropologist and postdoctoral research fellow of the Wayne State University School of Medicine and Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute, has been selected to be an Innovation Fellow by the Office of Technology Commercialization at Wayne State University. The objective of the Innovation Fellows Program is to cultivate the next generation of Chief Scientific Officers and entrepreneurial scientists. Dr. Eaton's award will provide her with the opportunity to gain first hand technology commercialization experience through participation in technology and market assessments, product development, business and entrepreneurship.

Craig M. Jenkins, PhD, ABPP
Dr. Jenkins was inducted into the Order of Military Medical Merit. Membership in the Order recognizes those individuals who have clearly demonstrated the highest standards of integrity and moral character, displayed an outstanding degree of professional competence, served in the Army Medical Department (for a minimum of 10 years) with selflessness, and have made a sustained contribution to the betterment of Army Medicine. Any Active Duty, Reserve Component, civilian or retired member of the Army Medical Department who, through dedicated application of talent, effort, and spirit, has made a significant contribution having an impact on the whole of the AMEDD, shall be eligible for induction into the Order.