Outlook: Newsletter of the Society of Behavorial Medicine
Spring/Summer 2013 Return to Outlook Main page »

Honors & Awards

This article showcases some of SBM members' recent honors and awards. If you would like to have your honor or award featured in the next issue, please forward the details of your achievement to William J. Sieber, PhD, Outlook Editor. Congratulations to all of the following members.

Jill E. Bormann, PhD, RN
Jill E. Bormann, PhD, RN, has been selected as one of 172 nurse leaders for induction as a Fellow during the Academy’s 40th annual meeting on October 19, 2013, in Washington, DC. The Academy is composed of more than 2,000 nurse leaders in education, management, practice, policy, and research. Selection is based, in part, on the extent the nominee’s nursing career has influenced health policies and the health and wellbeing of all.  Dr. Bormann’s contributions are based on her research and dissemination of the Mantram Repetition Program, a mind-body-spiritual intervention for symptom management.

Matthew P. Buman, PhD, and Eric B. Hekler, PhD
Matthew P. Buman, PhD, and Eric B. Hekler, PhD, won an award at last year's CHI conference for their paper, Mind the theoretical gap: interpreting, using, and developing behavioral theory in HCI research. Specifically, it was a Best Paper award, meaning that of the approximately 2,000 articles submitted, this paper was ranked among the top 1%.

Diane Ehlers, MA
Diane Ehlers, MA received the Best Graduate Poster award at the University of Nebraska at Omaha Student Research and Creative Activity Fair.

Jennifer A. Linde, PhD
Jennifer A. Linde, PhD was elected as a Fellow of the Obesity Society as of February 18, 2013. She was also appointed Treasurer of the International Society for Behavioral Nutrition & Physical Activity as of May 2013.

Tracey A. Revenson, PhD
Tracey A. Revenson, PhD has been awarded the Nathan Perry Career Service Award in Health Psychology from the Division of Health Psychology of APA. This award honors individuals who have made significant contributions to Division 38 and the advancement of health psychology as a field, nationally and internationally.

Elena Salmoirago-Blotcher, MD, PhD
Elena Salmoirago-Blotcher, MD, PhD, received the Faculty Scholar Award – Program in Medicine and Religion, MacLean Center for Clinical Medical Ethics and the Divinity School, University of Chicago for a prospective study of the association between spirituality, burnout and psychological wellbeing in emergency room and intensive care physicians.