Outlook: Newsletter of the Society of Behavorial Medicine
Winter 2015 Return to Outlook main page »

Honors and Awards

Congratulations to the following Society of Behavioral Medicine (SBM) members who recently received awards or were otherwise honored. To have your honor or award featured in the next issue of Outlook, please email lbullock@sbm.org.

Frank Andrasik, PhD, Jeffrey L. Goodie, PhD, ABPP, and Alan L. Peterson, PhD
The edited book Biopsychosocial Assessment in Clinical Health Psychology, by Drs. Andrasik, Goodie, and Peterson, features chapters written by many SBM members. It was published in January 2015 by Guilford Press. The book provides state-of-the-art approaches and tools for evaluating both health-related behaviors and psychosocial aspects of medical illness. The content would be valued by health providers working in medical settings and graduate students learning clinical health psychology-related assessment strategies.

Lila J. Finney Rutten, PhD
Dr. Finney Rutten’s position was recently endowed. She is now the Robert D. and Patricia E. Kern Scientific Director for the Population Health Science Program at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN.

Katarina Friberg Felsted
A new book titled Toward Post Ageing: Technology in an Ageing Society has been co-authored by Dr. Katarina Friberg Felsted, and SBM member and a member of the society’s Aging Special Interest Group. The book, published by Springer, presents a provocative interdisciplinary meta-analysis that contrasts paradigms with inflection points within the field of aging; offers a detailed examination of the varied roles of technology in an aging society; examines the promise and challenges of post aging; and addresses the implication of ethics in postponing and possibly ending aging.

Leslie R.M. Hausmann, PhD
Dr. Hausmann was selected for the VA Secretary’s 4th Annual Diversity and Inclusion Excellence Awards Program. She was selected for her innovative and stellar work as a research health scientist for the Center for Health Equity Research and Promotion (CHERP). Dr. Hausmann has played a key role in supporting the CHERP at the VA Pittsburgh Healthcare System as a training site for the Doris Duke Foundation Academy for Clinical Research, a summer internship program designed to immerse rising high school seniors from underrepresented minority and disadvantaged backgrounds in clinical research activities. Dr. Hausmann also mentors junior faculty from underrepresented minority groups.

Gary L. Kreps, PhD, FAAHB
Dr. Kreps has received the following recent awards:

  • 2015 Research Laureate Award, from the American Academy of Health Behavior (AAHB). The Research Laureate is the highest award bestowed by the AAHB. Awarded annually, it honors a scholar who has made significant, enduring contributions to health behavior research. The process is highly competitive and based on a comparative review of finalists’ lifetime records of research productivity and national and international impact. This award will be conferred at the 2015 annual AAHB conference in San Antonio, TX, in March 2015.
  • 2014 NCA Dale Brashers Mentorship Award, from the Health Communication Division of the National Communication Association (NCA). The award is in recognition of a career of outstanding mentorship, education, and support of health communication scholars. This award was conferred at the 2014 NCA annual conference in Chicago, IL, in November 2014.
  • 2014 Gary Gumpert Award: The State of the Field of Urban Communication, from the Urban Communication Foundation. This $2,500 award funds development of a white paper: Communication and the Reduction of Health Inequities in Urban Areas. It was conferred at the NCA conference in Chicago, IL, in November 2014.

Jennifer McClure, PhD
Dr. McClure was awarded the 2015 Faculty Mentoring Award at the Group Health Research Institute in December.

Deborah J. Ossip, PhD
Dr. Ossip has been elected president of the Society for Research on Nicotine and Tobacco for 2016. She will assume the role of president-elect during the society’s annual meeting, on February 25, 2015.

Tom G. Plante, PhD
Dr. Plante has a book coming out this month on compassion:

  • Plante, T. G. (Ed.). (2015). The Psychology of Compassion and Cruelty: Understanding the Emotional, Spiritual, and   Religious Influences. Santa Barbara, CA: Praeger/ABC-CLIO.  ISBN-13: 978-1440832697.  

Julia H. Rowland, PhD
Dr. Rowland was the recipient of the Bernard Fox Memorial Award conferred by the International Psycho-Oncology Society on October 23, 2014, at the 16th World Congress of Psych-Oncology held in Lisbon, Portugal.

James F. Sallis, PhD
Dr. Sallis is the recipient of the 2015 Alliance Scholar Award, from by the Society of Health and Physical Educators (SHAPE America). The award recognizes research contributions to the field of physical activity and health. It will be presented in March 2015 in Seattle, WA.

Amy Wachholtz, PhD, MDiv, MS-PsyPharm, ABPP, FACHP
Dr. Wachholtz recently published a MCAT Study Guide Book Series consisting of four items:

  • Hademenos, G., Campbell, C, Murphy, S. Wachholtz, A., Warner, J., Zahler, K, (2015)  MCAT 2015 Behavioral and Social Sciences & Critical Analysis.  Boston: McGraw-Hill.
  • Hademenos, G., Campbell, C, Murphy, S. Wachholtz, A., Warner, J., Zahler, K, (2015)  MCAT 2015 Biological and Biochemical Foundations of Living Systems.  Boston: McGraw-Hill.
  • Hademenos, G., Campbell, C, Murphy, S. Wachholtz, A., Warner, J., Zahler, K, (2015)  MCAT 2015 Chemical and Physical Foundations of Biological Systems.  Boston: McGraw-Hill.
  • Hademenos, G., Campbell, C, Murphy, S. Wachholtz, A., Warner, J., Zahler, K, (2015)  MCAT 2015: Two Full-Length Practice Tests .  Boston: McGraw-Hill.

Robin Whittemore, PhD, APRN, FAAN
The University of Connecticut (UConn) School of Nursing has selected Yale School of Nursing Associate Professor and PhD program director Robin Whittemore, PhD, APRN, FAAN, as recipient of the 2014 Marlene Kramer Outstanding Alumni Award for Research in Nursing. The award honors former UConn School of Nursing Dean Marlene Kramer and recognizes distinguished nursing alumni who have demonstrated excellence in nursing research Whittemore’s contributions and research focusing on lifestyle change to prevent and treat type-2 diabetes has helped improve health behaviors and psychosocial outcomes in youth at risk for obesity and youth with type-1 diabetes. The award was presented in November 2014.