2018 SBM Achievement Awards

Each year, SBM provides awards recognizing outstanding achievement and contribution to the field of behavioral medicine.

See the 2018 Achievement Award winners below.

Distinguished Scientist Award
Kenneth E. Freedland, PhD

Kenneth E. Freedland, PhD

Research to Practice Award 
Abby C. King, PhD 

Abby C. King

Jessie Gruman Award for Health Engagement -
Jeffrey L. Goodie, PhD

Jeffrey L. Goodie

Early Career Investigator Award
Aaron J. Blashill, PhD

Aaron J. Blashill

Outstanding Dissertation Award
Roman Shrestha, PhD, MPH and Rachel Goode, PhD, MPH, LCSW

Roman ShresthaRachel Goode

Student Excellence in Research Award
Alicia A. Dahl, MS and Mackenzie E. Perkett

Alicia A. DahlMackenzie E. Perkett

Student Travel Scholarship
Claire C. Conley, MA; Sara A. Hoffman; Leah M. Schumacher; and Emily P. Wyckoff, MS

ConleyHoffmanLeah M. SchumacherEmily P. Wyckoff

Distinguished Mentor Award
Dawn K. Wilson, PhD

Dawn K. Wilson

Excellence in Behavioral Medicine Training Program Award
Ohio State University Health Specialty in Clinical Psychology

Ohio State University Health Specialty in Clinical Psychology

New Fellows
Jamie S. Bodenlos, PhD; Cynthia Castro Sweet, PhD; Delwyn Catley, PhD; Lee M. Cohen, PhD; Katie L. Davis, PhD;
Genevieve F. Dunton, PhD, MPH; Jeffrey S. Gonzalez, PhD; Kate M. Guthrie, PhD; Michael A. Hoyt, PhD; Beth A. Lewis, PhD; Melissa Napolitano, PhD; Karen Oliver, PhD; Crystal L. Park, PhD; Dori Pekmezi, PhD; Laura S. Porter, PhD;
Christine M. Rini, PhD and David Williams, PhD

C. Tracy Orleans Distinguished Service Awards
Monica L. Baskin, PhD; Member Delegate
Edwin B. Fisher, PhD; Awards Committee Chair
Kristi D. Graves, PhD; SIG Council Chair
Lorna Haughton McNeill, PhD, MPH; Membership Council Chair
James F. Sallis Jr., PhD; Past-President, Nominating Committee Chair
Rachel C. Shelton, ScD, MPH; Program Committee Chair

Contact Andrew Schmidt with questions about the 2018 Achievement Awards.


Photo courtesy New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau, and photographer Jeff Anding.