Continuing Education Credits

General Information

Most 2018 Annual Meeting sessions are eligible for continuing education credit. If a specific session is not eligible, it is noted in the conference program. Conference attendees who wish to receive continuing education credits and a continuing education certificate of attendance at the 2018 Annual Meeting must:

  • Purchase continuing education credits by May 4; purchase credits by calling (414) 918-3156. The purchase price is $80 per credit type for SBM members and $100 per credit type for non-members.
  • Complete an online evaluation within 30 days of the Annual Meeting (by Monday, May 14, 2018). Registration packets distributed on site will include a link to the evaluation website. SBM national office staff will also email the link to attendees. On the evaluation website, attendees will find a general meeting evaluation as well as session-specific evaluations; both types of evaluations must be completed to receive continuing education credit. Each session-specific evaluation asks questions pertaining to the session, so it may be helpful to take notes during the session. Be sure to attend each session in its entirety as the session evaluation will include an attestation statement indicating attendance for the entire session.

Immediately after attendees complete the online evaluation, continuing education certificates will be emailed to the address they indicated on the evaluation. Alternately, attendees can print their own certificates from the screen that appears immediately following completion of the online evaluation.

Satisfactory Completion
Participants must have paid fee and completed an online evaluation form to receive a continuing education certificate. Participants not fulfilling these requirements will not receive a certificate.  Failure to complete the online evaluation form will result in forfeiture of credit for the entire conference. Partial credit of individual sessions is not available. Certificates are available immediately after completing the online form.

Available Credit Types

Accreditation Statement - This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the accreditation requirements and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) through the joint providership of Amedco and the Society of Behavioral Medicine (SBM).  Amedco is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians.
Credit Designation Statement - Amedco designates this live activity for a maximum of 26.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Amedco is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation. This course is co-provided by Amedco and SBM.  Maximum of 26.0 contact hours.

Nurse Practitioners
The American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) recognizes the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) and the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) as approved accreditors and allow reciprocity for AANPCP continuing education credit.

The Society of Behavioral Medicine is approved by the American Psychological Association to offer continuing education for psychologists.  SBM maintains responsibility for this program and its content.  Maximum of 26.0 hours.

Certified Health Education Specialists
Application has been made to the National Commission for Health Education Credentialing, Inc. (NCHEC) for CHES Category I continuing education contact hours (CECH).

Public Health Professionals
This program has been approved by the National Board of Public Health Examiners (NBPHE). NBPHE offers the certified in public health (CPH) credential as the only voluntary core credential for public health professionals. Maximum of 26.0 CPH credits.

Dieticians may earn a total of up to 26.0 CPEUs by attending this conference.  Please see the PDP guidelines at for further explanation of requirements.


Photo courtesy New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau, and photographer Chris Granger.