

41st Annual Meeting & Scientific Sessions 2020 Program Committee Conference Call

Date: Monday, August 12, 2019

Time: 3pm ET/2pm CT/1pm MT/12pm PT

In Attendance

L. Alison Phillips, PhD (Chair)
Jessica Y. Breland, PhD
Yendelela L. Cuffee, PhD, MPH
Meagan Helmick, PhD, MPH, CHES
Sandra J. Winter, PhD, MHA
Betina R. Yanez, PhD

SBM Staff In Attendance

Rachel Mizar (Senior Meetings Manager) Angela Burant (Meetings Manager)

Not In Attendance

Michael A. Diefenbach, PhD (SBM President) Eric B. Hekler, PhD (Past Chair) Dori Steinberg, PhD (Co-Chair) Austin S. Baldwin, PhD Lindsay Bullock (Executive Director) Edith A. Burns, MD Miriam H. Eisenberg Colman, PhD Margaret Grey, DrPH, RN, FAAN Linda K. Ko, PhD Lisa M. McAndrew, PhD Christine E. Prue, PhD Lisa Quintiliani, PhD Carmina G. Valle, PhD, MPH

Sherrie Lee Wallington, PhD

1. Financial Disclosures and Biographical Data Forms

Everyone on the committee needs to send these forms to Ms. Mizar by Friday, August 16th.

2. Abstract Submission Timelines

As of week three of abstracts being opened, we have 15 submissions and 75 drafts. Last year at this time, we had 18 submissions and 79 drafts so the numbers are right on track. Please remind colleagues to submit abstracts. September 9th is the official cut off to submit abstracts. By October 1st all abstracts are reviewed and by October 9th the topic area chairs make their final recommendations to the Program Committee. At the end of October, the small Program Committee meets to choose abstracts for the annual meeting. By November 1st people will receive a notification about if their abstract was accepted or rejected.

3. Potential Supporters

In the agenda there is an exhibitor prospectus, please send the form out to any organizations or institutions that you think would want to offer support or exhibit at the annual meeting. Please copy Angela on any emails to potential supporters; aburant@sbm.org.

4. Plenary Speakers

Welcome session on Wednesday night will be Kara Hall. Presidential Keynote will be Dr. Michael Diefenbach on Thursday evening. Keynote speakers will be Ruha Benjamin, Danielle Schlosser, and Laura Carstensen. Keynote panel on Friday will be Susan Michie, Pól Mac Aonghusa, and Robert Wachter. The Distinguished Science Award Winner Master Lecture will be Dr. Julian Thayer. The Jessie Gruman Award Winner Master Lecture will be Amanda Graham from Truth Initiative. The Master Lectures will be Miguel Hernan, Alex Rothman, and Industry Speed Networking.

5. Topic Chairs

Dr. Phillips just has to secure one more topic area chair for the Complementary and Integrative Medicine/Spirituality topic area.

Next Program Committee Conference Call