Member Login:
| Login Help
| MENU |


There are seven permanent councils of the Society of Behavioral Medicine.

Digital Health Council
Chair: Ellen Beckjord, PhD, MPH
This council is responsible for identifying and pursuing opportunities, partnerships, and endeavors that strategically position SBM and its members to be leaders in the field of digital health.

Education, Training, and Career Development (ETCD) Council
Chair: Nicole Zarrett, PhD
This council is responsible for identifying existing education and training programs and promoting the development of new interdisciplinary education, training, and career development efforts in behavioral medicine.

Health Policy Council
Chair: Marian L. Fitzgibbon, PhD
This council is charged with developing and fostering health policy initiatives and activities congruent with the mission of the society. Moreover the council is responsible for ensuring coordination of the activities of the Health Policy Committee and the Civic and Public Engagement Committee.

Membership Council
Chair: Lorna Haughton McNeill, PhD, MPH
This council is charged with building and maintaining a multidisciplinary membership of behavioral medicine professionals. The Membership Council is responsible for retention and cultivation of membership and the establishment of appropriate criteria for membership.

Publications and Communications Council
Chair: David E. Conroy, PhD
Communications Subcommittee Chair: Bradford W. Hesse, PhD
This council is responsible for disseminating the highest quality scientific information and literature to members, non-member health professionals and the general public. 

Scientific and Professional Liaison Council (SPLC)
Chair: Sherri Sheinfeld Gorin, PhD
The objective of the SBM's SPLC is to develop and foster joint interdisciplinary programs and services with  other scientific and professional  organizations. The primary organizations of interest to the SPLC are those organizations where the mutual goal is to accelerate innovations in behavioral medicine through science, practice, and policy. By linking SBM to relevant external organizations, these liaisons can further expand professional networks for SBM members, create new scientific, collaborative, and other opportunities by enhancing communication between SBM and external societies or agencies.

Special Interest Group (SIG) Council
Chair: Kristi D. Graves, PhD
This council is charged with developing and fostering scientific activities in specific fields and specialties, and joint interdisciplinary programs and services with other professional organizations. It represents scientific specialties of SBM in the international behavioral medicine community. 

Wisdom Council
The Wisdom Council comprises all past presidents and several other leaders of SBM.

If you’re interested in getting involved with a council, contact the chair of the council you’d like to join.